Reshuffle Rocks Parliamentary Committee Leadership


The Legislative House of Ghana has effected changes to leadership of its committees, through a reconstitution exercise. The reconstitution of the leadership of Parliament’s Committee has seen changes in both the majority and minority side of the house.

The report passed by the House, saw  lawyer and Member of Parliament (MP) for Bawku Central, Mahama Ayariga, pharmacist, barrister, diplomat and MP for Wa West, Joseph Yieleh – Chireh, and Fiifi Kwetey, MP for Ketu South, all Minority members, as some of the big names to have been rocked by the reshuffle, leading to their replacement.

New Chairman of the Subsidiary Legislation Committee, Dr Ayine

Bolga East MP, Dr. Dominic Ayine is now the Chairman of the Subsidiary Legislation Committee replacing the former Minister of Information and Media Relations and the Minister of Youth and Sports, Mahama Ayariga.

Juaboso MP, Kwabena Mintah Akandoh also replaces Former Health Minister, Joseph Yiele-Chireh as the Ranking Member on the Health Committee.

Fiify Kwetey

Ketu South MP, Fiifi Kwetey has been replaced as ranking member on the Trade, Industry and Tourism Committee by Ellembelle MP, Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah.

Sampson Ahi has also been replaced as ranking member on the Works and Housing Committee by Ho West MP, Emmanuel Bedzrah.

Meanwhile, on the side of the Majority in the House, Collins Owusu Amankwah has been made the chairman of the Government Assurance Committee replacing Manso Adubia MP.

Yaw Frimpong Addo takes over as chairman of the Environment, Science and Technology Committee which was chaired by the late MP, Emmanuel Agyarko and Former Deputy Agriculture Minister, William Quaitoo is now chairman of the Local Government Committee.

Aside the fact that some replaced committee leaders are serving on the ECOWAS and AU Parliaments, it remains unclear the reasons behind some of the considerations that went into the various changes for the committee leadership positions.

The House of Legislation is currently made up of 275 Members of Parliament, with each constituency having one representative each. As the third Arm of government, Parliament is important to the democratic dispensation of the country. Their operation is such that, the Government, for example, cannot enter into any international agreement without their ratification.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here